Why is an authorisation hold placed on my payment method when sending a carpool booking request?

When you send a booking request for a carpool ride, a temporary authorisation hold is placed on your payment method for the full amount of the ride. Your chosen payment method then sets this money aside so that the money is available when the driver confirms your ride request.

If your booking request is confirmed

If your booking request is confirmed, the authorisation becomes an actual charge, and the amount will be taken from your account.

If your booking request is declined or expires

If your booking request is declined or expires, the authorisation will disappear or appear as a refund in your payment account—this may take up to 7 days, depending on your bank. 

If the charge is still on your bank statement after 7 days, you should contact your bank for further details.

 

Didn't find what you're looking for? Contact us.

Was this article helpful?

57 out of 155 found this helpful